today part 1

I’m thinking of trying this new thing; I cannot guarantee I’ll stick to it though. I’ll wait to see if I feel it is received well enough to continue.

Someone once asked, “what if life is not happening to you, but for you?” and I believe in that wholeheartedly. Every day is this tiny little gift if we choose to see it that way. Our days are filled with interesting moments, as long as we are willing to take note of them.

I’m going to try my best to take note of some moment every day, or at least most days, and chronicle it in a series that I have so cleverly titled “today.” Admit it, my brilliance is blinding.

Here’s today:

Coffee with my best friend. We both show up late, typical. We talk about boys and jobs and psychology because we just can’t stop talking about those things. Her sister comes with her new boyfriend. He is a stranger. We’ve discussed our reservations ahead of time. I think our reservations mostly dissipate as the evening goes on. I say something weird right away, and that is the best thing for me. I sometimes hide my true self in fear of not being accepted, so I feel good about how things went. We all laugh too much, too loudly, but I never bother to see if other patrons are bothered by it. I’m having too much fun. My best friend and I have a million inside jokes and we make subtle comments off to the side. We stand outside in the parking lot after the coffee shop closes; we tend to do that a lot, standing random places, too much left to be said. We talk about the future, and it is exhausting; we focus on the weekend instead and that feels like enough planning for now. We have a good time. We decide repeating “it’s a good life, Hazel Grace,” from TFIOS is a thing we should do. We decide that’s weirdly hilarious. Friends find the most random things weirdly hilarious. We drive home, and I feel so good about our friendship and our lives and I can’t imagine parting with this world we’ve created.

Leave a Reply

