new year’s post

Oh hi there guys, welcome to 2015.

2015

Okay I get it, writing a post about the new year on the first day of the new year is unforgivably cliche. I’m actually punching myself in the face at how cliche this is. It makes me wanna gag, so I can’t imagine how anyone reading it must feel.

Nonetheless, I find sometimes I can’t help but be cliche. Sometimes things are so glaringly unoriginal because they’re just good things that everyone likes despite the lack of originality. I’m a white girl; I like Starbucks and wearing leggings, so whatever, I’m gonna write about the new year. Get me a pumpkin spice latte and call me basic.

So today is January 1st, but I’m sure you already know that. I’m sure many of you are nursing a hangover from celebrating last night. I’m sure many of you are hitting the gym in hopes of upholding that hallowed new year’s resolution to finally get fit. If you’re not at the gym, or hiding from the world from the safety of your bed, you’re finishing off your mom’s world famous buffalo chicken dip from last night’s gathering or watching a college bowl game. The point is, unless you live under a rock, you know today is the start of a new year.

It’s all over social media, and the thing that seems to be most common is tons and tons of people posting collages of all the pictures that accurately portray how wonderful 2014 was for them. I scroll through my Instagram feed, and I smile at all these beautiful, happy memories, but I didn’t post a single thing about how wonderful 2014 was for me because if I did, I’d be lying.

Yes, I had some awesome adventures. Yes, I have many memories I cherish from the year that just closed. However, it was not a good year in my life. In fact, as the clock ticked down the last hours of 2014 last night, I sat in anticipation to say goodbye to my worst year yet. I cried tears of relief at midnight because it was over, which I get, is a tad overly dramatic.

I don’t want to go into details. I don’t want to dwell on the past, and I don’t want you to think I’m complaining because I know that I could have had a much worse year than what I had. Nonetheless, I was ecstatic to end this year, and so were many of my friends who are at a similar place in their lives.

I get that it’s delusional and ridiculous to just think the second a new year starts a person’s life can transform. Still, the symbolism is enough to look at things from a new perspective.

I’m also not a believer in the power of positive thinking or anything silly like that. However, maybe choosing to focus on the positive is enough to catapult you into a better life, really I don’t know.

Regardless of my naturally cynical, pessimistic, critical life outlook, I’m constantly romanticizing things. And so in conversations with a few of my favorite people as the clock neared midnight, I found myself romanticizing the year to come. Doing so was wonderful and perfect, and left me with this inexplicable feeling of certainty that the things I was saying were true. So I’d just like to share them with you, and maybe add a few more things. I’m excited about 2015, and I want you all to be too. No matter what 2014 looked like, I hope 2015 is your best year yet. So here you have it.

2015 will be the year we quit our jobs. 2015 will be the year we move away. 2015 will be the year we fall in love: with ourselves, with our lives, and with a million other things until we change our minds. 2015 will be a year of pursuing our passions and chasing our dreams. In 2015 we will live every moment, we will get as much as we can out of every single day. We will dance on tables, not drunkenly, but because we are so full of life. We will eat dessert for breakfast. We will laugh until we cry and smile until our faces hurt. 2015 will be a year of freedom and fun, and adventure and happiness. We will stay up too late, spend too much on coffee and concerts, and not enough on savings. We will refuse to stop because we won’t know how. We will love like we didn’t know we could. 2015 will not be perfect. We will fly too close to the sun. We will fall and we will get hurt, but we will not be broken. We will get back up and we will not hesitate to try again. 2015 is a year for youth, to go where our hearts call, to let go and never hold back. 2015 is a year to love fiercely, to snatch up every moment, commit it to memory, and know that every minute we’re living will be the best minute of our lives. 2015 will be our best year yet. We’ll be happy and wild and free, and we won’t look back. 2015 will be our year, and then, dare I say, 2016 will prove to be even better than that. 

Here’s to living and loving in 2015. I’ll be posting a list of resolutions later, but I’d love to hear yours in the comments. Or just let me know what you’re looking forward to and hoping for in the year to come. Cheers. Happy New Year.

Photo Credits: 1

Leave a Reply

